Wendy Duffy

“How did Scotland affect your life since you attended the program?”
Scotland shaped the choices I made later in college and defined the adult I became! Wisconsin in Scotland led me far away from all of my family, friends and the familiar—it was this experience that truly taught me to not be afraid to take chances and step outside of my comfort zone. Since my time in Scotland, I have spent years living in California, Austria, Tennessee and Texas- not to mention done a lot of traveling domestically and internationally. Had I not went to Scotland, I am not sure I would have had the courage to move cross country after college to California, where I later met my husband. I also truly believe that living abroad changes the way you see the world and your own country. I returned in May 2012 with my husband and it was a very emotional and tearful journey back to a special place in my heart.
“What would you recommend to students interested in participating in the program?”
SAVE up as much money as you can before you go abroad so you can do all the things you want to while you are there and DON’T be afraid to take out student loans to make this semester abroad possible. I have long since payed off my loans and it was worth every single red cent! Make sure to travel as much as you can while you are there–backpacking, etc. See as many countries as you can–it’s so easy to get around over there! Public transporation is amazing. Also, I highly recommend doing an internship while you are there- if it’s offered. I did in Edinburgh and it really gave me a VERY local experience!
Leave a Reply

